Law Office of John T. Orcutt Client Reviews Skip to main content
×
×

You are here

Reviews for a Top Bankruptcy Lawyer from satisfied clients

When you’re deep in debt, worried about your financial future and looking for solutions, it’s a stressful time in your life. Bankruptcy may be the life-changing solution you need. The first step to get out of overwhelming debt is to find an experienced local attorney you can trust. To know what to expect when working with a lawyer, start by reading client reviews.
Look for keywords in reviews that instill trust, confidence, and indicate a positive client-attorney experience. There are two aspects to consider when researching the best bankruptcy lawyer for you. You want to know the results the firm can get for you and how you’ll be treated. By reading reviews from real clients, you can evaluate both and make an informed decision.
There are other considerations to make when choosing your North Carolina bankruptcy lawyer. Consider choosing:
  • A local attorney rather than a national chain to ensure the lawyer knows the local court system.
  • An attorney who practices only bankruptcy law, so you know you’re working with an expert.
  • A smaller firm over a larger one to get more personal attention during the process.
  • A firm that belongs to the National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys (NACBA).
  • A law firm that offers your initial bankruptcy consultation for free.

To find out more about the Law Offices of John T. Orcutt, read reviews and results from our clients below. When you’re ready to set up your free North Carolina bankruptcy consultation, call us at 1-888-234-4181.

5

Posted by
Nedra
on Sep 25, 2017
My experience was excellent Amy Hodge took care of me very well and she work hard on my case make sure everything was in the right order. I would refer her to anyone need help.

Thanks,
Nedra
5

Posted by
Bonnie
on Sep 13, 2017
I just want to express how great of a job that Jessica Edwards did in assisting me in this process. Jessica kept me informed of my options, helped answer my questions, and guided me through the process with ease. Jessica's attitude was always pleasant, always smiling, and always willing to help me. I do appreciate the great customer care Jessica gave me, and I would highly recommend this firm to anyone.
5

Posted by
Bernice
on Sep 13, 2017
For last five months I had the pleasure of getting help from one of the best paralegal. Amy Hodge, have answer my concerns without making feel stupid. Amy Hodge always listen to my complaints, she know what I needed for my case and took care of it in record time. Amy never fell down on her job, if she said I would have a certain document email to me in a couple hours it was here. Amy made my experience with the law offices of John T. Orcutt less stressful. I enjoyed our working experience. This let me know that there is help for people like me that get in debt over their heads.

Thanks Amy Hodge
5

Posted by
MLF
on Sep 7, 2017
Excellent job by the attorneys, Joseph Nichols is who I worked with hands on, very professional always answered questions, and always did what was best for me the client. I never felt like a number, I felt like they had my best interest at hand. They even delayed the process, so that a claim would fall off and not count against the amount I owed, so I would not have pay back a number I could not afford. I would recommend to any family, or friends, and that says a lot.
5

Posted by
Tanya
on Sep 6, 2017
As I have reached out to law firm, my experience with you was to me outstanding. I am deeply appreciative for the helpfulness and structural integrity from you and the entire staff. Thank you.
5

Posted by
Cynthia
on Sep 2, 2017
Service is excellent I felt so comfortable and secured talking with your employees who helped assured me that I could be helped. I was so afraid of losing my home God bless your company for excellent service. Lastly, God bless I seen the ad and it spoke exactly was I was experiencing at that time I would not sleep for worrying. Thank all of you for what you do.
4

Posted by
Anne
on Sep 2, 2017
I was really so relieved to having gotten rid of all the stress I was under. The only real concerns I now have are wondering what to expect when I go to court. I haven't even met my lawyer yet and I'm beginning to wonder how we will know one another when I get there. Will this take very long and will I have to talk or what? It would be most helpful to learn all this beforehand but I don't suppose that would be possible now as I've completed my office visits and I go to court on the 11th of September.

In all, however, I was very pleased with everything. Everyone was so courteous and I didn't feel uncomfortable talking at all. I guess I was just so relieved to not have to worry any further.

Thank you all so much!


5

Posted by
Tiffany
on Aug 29, 2017
It was a hard decision deciding I needed to file for bankruptcy. Jessica Mayo Edwards help me to understand that this was something to help and not hurt me. Very appreciative for the time she took with me to help me understand that.
5

Posted by
Zeabie
on Aug 28, 2017
I certainly enjoyed working with you also Jessica. This being my first experience working with a law firm, you have made it a pleasure.I know around this time last year you were on maternity leave. I know you are enjoying being a mother. Again thank you very much. The law firm can be very proud to have you working for them.
5

Posted by
Alesia
on Aug 26, 2017
We recently had an opportunity to work on filing bankruptcy with Jessica Mayo Edwards. She was so patient and helpful to us. She was always willing to answer our questions. She made herself available to us if we needed anything. She helped me by letting me know there was a shop nearby who could check my car when I had a problem and that meant a lot to me! Jessica is the right kind of person to help people who find themselves in this situation. Her patience, kindness, and knowledge of the process is wonderful!
5

Posted by
Valerie
on Aug 25, 2017
Mr. Orcutt,

Thank you very much for offering your assistance with my Chapter 13 process.
I really appreciate your willingness April by answering all the questions I
wasn’t aware of regarding Chapter 13.

Your expertise and enthusiasm were both appreciated during a time which can
be stressful for all concerned! Most of all I appreciate your guidance and
direction.

April in Durham Office, you are a great assets to the Law Offices of John T.
Orcutt.

“May the world be kind to you, and may your own thoughts be gentle upon
yourself.”

Thanks,
Valerie
5

Posted by
Steve
on Aug 25, 2017
The people at your firm in Wilson,N.C. are very helpful and courteous. Jessica Mayo Edwards is the person who helped me. She is the BEST. thank you
5

Posted by
Eva
on Aug 25, 2017
Mr. Orcutt, I want to take a minute and thank Mrs. Jessica Mayo Edwards for her time and for helping me take care of my debt problems!
5

Posted by
William
on Aug 25, 2017
I went to Orcutt office in Wilson and worked with Amy Hodge and she was excellent. She took time to work around my busy schedule and explain things to me in easy terminology. I will certainly be going to them again in the future if i need any more help. Thanks Amy for being so nice and doing an excellent job.
5

Posted by
Alice
on Aug 24, 2017
Excellent, Polite and very professional.
5

Posted by
Cindy
on Aug 23, 2017
Filing bankruptcy was one of the hardest decisions I've ever had to make. It was an absolute struggle for me.Amy was awesome, she makes you feel really comfortable.She explained everything thoroughly and made it easy for me to understand. I highly recommend John Orcutt. Thank you
5

Posted by
Carolyn
on Aug 22, 2017
Thanks Amy Hodge for helping me to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I feel so relieved to know I can have a fresh start. Thanks again for all you've done to help.
5

Posted by
Tim B.
on Aug 22, 2017
After I checked in, I was greeted with a warm smile by Tina Moore, a bankruptcy paralegal that was assigned to my case. I was seen with no delay, and she soon put me at ease as we sat down in her office. We then began to go over the details of my bankruptcy case. After a few minutes, it was evident that Ms. Moore was exceptional at her position making my bankruptcy so clear to me. She has a sense of humor that will help lighten the mood if you’re still feeling unsure about the process. She is here to help. Ms. Moore covered a lot of material and explained it where I felt like I was a paralegal for that short time in her office- She’s great with highlighters and pens. You won’ forget (That helped me) I know I won’t. She genuinely cares and wants to help. That’s how I felt when I left the office that day. I had such a great experience talking about bankruptcy.
5

Posted by
Barb
on Jul 24, 2017
Dear Monica,
I am writing to let you know that the sensitivity and professionalism with which the Law Offices of John T. Orcutt, in the Wilmington office, handled our case. To begin with, I was so embarrassed and distressed with our financial situation that I dreaded coming into your office. It's an odd feeling to have been a substantial wage-earner practically your whole life and then, in "the Golden Years" you are brought to your knees by health issues and other unanticipated hardships. At this time in our country, with so much changing, the future for us Baby Boom oldsters is particularly grim. (Well, that's the opinion I keep hearing from others in this age bubble; and I know it's true in our case.)

I expected the whole procedure to be demeaning and heartless. Thankfully, due to you and your attorney in Wilmington, it was as pleasant as I could have hoped. (If "pleasant" is the right word?) You and the attorney both treated us with respect, compassion and kindness. You explained the whole process to us in simple, one-step-at-a-time terms. From the day we initially came into your office until we had our final day in court, the entire experience was initiated and concluded in just two months.

What a relief! Although I am still not terribly proud of having taken these steps, I am totally grateful for you and your team. David and I would both give you a 10. I can not think of a single thing you-all could have done better.

All indications point to a success with the program and we know -- should we come to any bumps in the road -- we can call Monica Barbour! Thank you, again, for everything. You are our Hero!!
5

Posted by
Greg
on Apr 5, 2016
All too often people in customer-facing roles only receive feedback when something goes wrong and/or a customer is upset. However, I would like to provide you with some very positive feedback. First of all, everyone at your firm with which I have interacted over the past few years has been nothing but courteous and professional. Everyone is so helpful, and I am not made to simply feel "like a number." From the onset of my chapter 13 filing and throughout the court process, members of your team were "with us all the way" to reach the best outcome available for my family.

I am still in my chapter 13, and would specifically like to address the level of service that I have received since filing my claim. Kelly Cox handles my case, and she has always been "Johnny-on-the-spot" with any questions or concerns that I may have. For the past couple of years Kelly has consistently provided me with good advice and has always helped clear up any bankruptcy misconceptions that I may encounter from time to time. Kelly truly makes me feel like she is an active partner in my family's financial recovery, and she always seems to advocate for my family's best interests. Kelly is very knowledgeable, she comes across to me as confident, and she has never given me any reason to not trust her. When all is said and done - and based on the long period of time that I have been your client - I can honestly say that Kelly truly appreciates her clients' needs. From my vantage point as a customer, Kelly represents your firm well; her actions are a very positive reflection upon herself and upon your team.
4

Posted by
Len
on Mar 16, 2016
Thank you for your professionalism and expertise with assisting me through the bankruptcy process. You and Patty both were very thorough with every detail to expedite the process. I am currently working on building my credit rating and intend to maintain a high score. I would highly recommend the Office of J T Orcutt and his staff to anyone in need of bankruptcy.
5

Posted by
Barbara
on Oct 17, 2015
When I first decided on filing for Bankruptcy I really was a little uncertain as to whether I was making the right decision.Once the initial interview was conducted and I was given all the paper work to take home to complete and an appt. date/time to meet with Paralegal, Amy Hodge. I still was uncertain but kept the appt. with Amy. Upon meeting her I began to feel at ease and during the interview I really became relaxed and listening to all she explained in full ( understanding ) details I knew I had made the right decision by keeping my appt. Amy assured me that I had made the best decision by filing for Chaper 13 not Chapter 7 and the different between the two, I left the office feeling happier than I had felt in a very long time. If I ever come in contact with someone wanting to file Bankruptcy I will surely refer them to your office to interview with Paralegal, Amy Hodge. May she continue to increase your clientele with her professionalism.


c
4

Posted by
Josh
on Oct 12, 2015
We have had the lovely pleasure of working with your staff, primarily Jessica Mayo. They are very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. We have had to call numerous times with questions and they were all very tolerable with us. We will be more than happy to recommend your firm in the future. A little side note if we may would be to take your picture off of everything and possibly show a picture of you and your staff, just seems more personal and less big corporate. Thanks for everything.

Josh and Jami
5

Posted by
Sarah
on Oct 6, 2015
I went into the law office with a negative attitude and came out with a clear conscious. I made the decision to relieve myself of the debt I could no longer pay. I am thankful that this law exists becuase it saved my sanity and so did the law offices of john Orcutt.
5

Posted by
Jason
on Oct 2, 2015
I went into the law office with a negative attitude and came out with a clear conscious. I made the decision to relieve myself of the debt I could no longer pay. I am thankful that this law exists becuase it saved my sanity and so did the law offices of john Orcutt.
5

Posted by
Scott
on Oct 2, 2015
had tons of questions and they had tons of answers. I finally filed for bankruptcy relief and that's exactly what I got, relief from debt. I put my mistakes behind me and my new life in front of me and the only time I looked back was to write this thank you to the law offices of John T. Orcutt. I can breathe much easier now and actually look forward to the life ahead of me. Thanks again for for explaining to me why bankruptcy was the only realistic option I had left. The other options I tried seemed to only be interested in taking my money and not helping my debt problem.

Pages